Rhythmbox: Enable mp3 playback – Fedora 11

Copy/paste everything below into a root terminal:

[Edit: You might not need EVERYTHING here, but as of now I have all of this installed and Rhythmbox works flawlessly]

yum -y install gstreamer-plugins-good-0.10.14-2.fc11.i586 gstreamer-plugins-flumpegdemux-0.10.15-6.fc11.i586 gstreamer-plugins-farsight-0.12.10-2.fc11.i586 gstreamer-tools-0.10.22-3.fc11.i586 gstreamer-python-0.10.14-2.fc11.i586 gstreamer-ffmpeg-0.10.7-1.fc11.i586 gstreamer-0.10.22-3.fc11.i586 PackageKit-gstreamer-plugin-0.4.6-8.fc11.i586 gstreamer-plugins-ugly-0.10.11-1.fc11.i586 gstreamer-plugins-base-0.10.22-2.fc11.i586 gstreamer-plugins-bad-0.10.11-4.fc11.i586 totem-gstreamer-2.26.1-2.fc11.i586 gstreamer-plugins-bad-extras-0.10.11-4.fc11.i586

Edit: Here are my software sources in System > Administration > Software Sources.

SoftwareSources

~ by Fresh on June 15, 2009.

6 Responses to “Rhythmbox: Enable mp3 playback – Fedora 11”

  1. I still get a message saying “Could not find plugin in any source”. What do I need to change in the command above since I’m using Fedora 11 64-bit version? I’m new to Linux and I just installed Fedora today.

  2. Try installing all the above without their version names and without the “.586”. For example:

    yum -y install gstreamer-plugins-good

    — and —

    yum -y install gstreamer-plugins-flumpegdemux

    Let me know if it worked out.

  3. Tried it on 64-bit Fedora 11, with and without the version names. Most of the packages come up as “No package [name] available,” but a few of them are installed. I’ve never used Fedora before, do you have any idea what to do? I tried looking for the packages on the internet using google but many of them have dependencies that I can’t find. Any ideas?

    Thanks.

    • Check out System > Administration > Software Sources. Maybe you don’t have the same repositories as I do set up. I updated the post to show which software sources I’m using. Hope it helps.

  4. How do you add software sources?

  5. Hi.

    See (below) to enable the rpmfusion repositories:

    http://rpmfusion.org/Configuration

    This is what worked for me on Fedora 11 64 bit:

    yum -y install gstreamer-plugins-good gstreamer-plugins-flumpegdemux gstreamer-tools gstreamer-python gstreamer-ffmpeg gstreamer PackageKit-gstreamer-plugin gstreamer-plugins-ugly gstreamer-plugins-base gstreamer-plugins-bad totem-gstreamer gstreamer-plugins-bad-extras

    Thanks Fresh!

Leave a Reply

 
