My preferred public social networking etiquette

When I first started using Twitter a couple of years back, I was only connected to a small handful of real life friends on the site. I didn’t use a real picture of myself at the time for my avatar, and everything was done anonymously as far as the general public was concerned. The majority of my real life friends did the same if my memory serves me correctly. As [a lot of] time went by, many more caught on and joined the site, and my odds of remaining as anonymous as I’d like decreased.

Though the majority of Twitter users share updates publicly, there are certain things I choose not to share, and would appreciate if others wouldn’t share about me. In no particular order of importance, they are:

Photo uploads

I publicly share pictures every once in a while, but anyone who follows me may have noticed that aside from my selected profile picture, I never post pictures of myself. In addition, I never publicly post pictures of others, either, in order to respect their privacy. [One recent photo I posted is an exception to this rule, but I made a conscious effort to not include the person in question’s face in the photo]. The only pictures you’ll find that I post include objects or my surroundings. I would personally rather not have anyone publicly post photos of me for the world to see – at least not without approval. Uploading my picture into a private album that only your friends can see on Google+ or Facebook is acceptable, though. [But please omit from posting the not so flattering photos if you can]

Home address disclosure

Please don’t publicly mention this. If you happen to have mentioned it, try to go back and delete it. Tell a friend [privately] where I live if he/she needs directions to my place, but not the world.

Real [full] name disclosure

Another bit of info I haven’t publicly disclosed, and in turn would prefer to not have disclosed. In my opinion, there’s no need to add my real name to my already referenced @ alias. Save yourself a few bytes of bandwidth by omitting my real name, and we’ll both be happy.

Illegal activity disclosure

Things that are publicly shared online are accessible by anyone and can be collected/stored on any server/PC/laptop/phone/network-accessible device. “Anyone” could be legal authorities. What they store could selectively be any wrongdoings.

“Hey @rootblock, wanna go [do a socially acceptable yet potentially not so legal activity]?”

No, I do not. I’d like to be digitally known as the law-abiding citizen I am in real life.

That about wraps up how I feel towards public sharing in which I am included. Hopefully none of the points on my list are deemed unreasonable. Comment if you have anything else you would add to this list of do’s and don’ts, and maybe share this if you agree or share my opinion.

Thanks for reading.

~ by Fresh on October 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
